Toofer…Trust the Fisherman and Tina Fey!?

When was the last time you had fish sticks?

You remember, frozen sticks of fish from a bright yellow box?

Let’s see, it’s been at least 10 years since I scraped the freezer burn off a dozen or so fishy treats to make a meal…but the other night The Wife and I actually made a meal out of:


“Tasty fish with a crunchy, golden coating. It’s no wonder Fish Sticks are an all-time family favorite! For a meal or even as an after-school snack, Gorton’s Fish Sticks can’t be beat!”

Oh snap! As Ghostface said in “Black Jesus”,”Who wanna rhyme? Who wanna challenge the swordsman, that rock that fisherman hat like Gorton’s!” We do, dammit!

And did we ever. Thanks to a Weight Watchers’ recipe, we cooked up some marvelous FISH STICK TACOS!

First, you crack open the box:

I love the way they’re just tossed in the box there…no fancy freezer protection bag or nothin’.

Lay down some foil, a little cooking spray, and finally the sticks:

Bake, uncovered (450°F 9-11 minutes, turning 5 minutes) or until coating is golden brown and crunchy (According to the Gorton’s website)…do some other stuff with some spinach, cheese, hot sauce, sour cream, and a tortilla…..and voila!

Daaaammmmnnn, those were some good fish tacos right there…and only 5 points (for you guys and gals that are watching your figures)! I like them so much, I wanna’ take ’em behind the middle school and get ’em pregnant!

After our dinner we settled into our 30 Rock Season 1 marathon. I was curious about this show….it was getting all this great press and Alec Baldwin was in it. I know what you’re thinking, “What about Tina Fey?”
What about her? I didn’t really care for her Fallon-femme thing on SNL…ugh, fucking Fallon. Truth be told, their smarmy, hipper than me news segments left me cold and a little pissed off. So, needless to say, I was a bit worried about 30 Rock since she was the creator, star, and a writer.

Worries be damned…I love this show….and, I’m totally crushing on Tina Fey. Who’d a thunk it?

Hmmm, Tina Fey?

It’s totally the Liz Lemon character I’m really crushing on. I mean, she got that whole “cute girl who doesn’t really know how cute she is” thing going on along with a great sense of humor, odd ball dance moves, controlling personality (with a dash of self doubt), and a wicked scar on her face…Man, I love scars. Oh, and she has this in her office:

A 1968 French La Planete Des Singes poster…now that’s hot.

So, the show is high-larious. I’ll be sad when we finish Season 1, but I guess there’s always Season 2 to look forward to…oh, real quick, while reading up on 30 rock I stumbled upon a reference from the show that I wasn’t familiar with. Liz calls Toofer, Chocolate Rain….funny right? I guess, but not as funny until you see where the reference comes from:

Oh, snapitty, snap, snap! Have you seen the Dr. Pepper commercial Tay Zonday did?

Wow. T-a-y. T-a-y-to the Z!

5 Responses to “Toofer…Trust the Fisherman and Tina Fey!?”

  1. Yazzle Dazzle Says:

    The Chrizza and I recently brought the fish stick back into our diet, I love those little minced fish fingers, mmmm……
    We also just finished 30 Rock Season 1 and I must say the shit was funny, loved it! Tracey Jordan, Kenneth; they make a girl laugh so hard she almost tinkle in her pants!

  2. Freem Says:

    I think Tina is hot, cool and not-so funny.

    Always liked her but hated what she did to SNL.

    Too cute.

  3. Myrtle Says:

    I like the episode where Alec Baldwin called up his daughter and called her a pig and…..oh wait.

  4. art_thief Says:

    I got something on my mind grapes, and I don’t know what it is…

  5. coffee Says:

    i suspect that the arrangement between Zonday and Dr. Pepper’s relationship will prove to be mutually beneficial


Leave a Reply

