A Big Ass Turd In My Hand.

A few weeks ago I offered to write a movie review for a friend’s website. No big deal, right? I have all this free time and I love talking about movies, so writing a review should be a piece of cake! I emailed my buddy:

ME: If you ever need a Richard Dreyfuss to your Robert Shaw, I’d be
willing to help out doing a guest review or something. I’m out of school
for a while, so whatever.

BUDDY: What do you wanna review? anything in mind?

ME: Creatures From The Abyss (aka Plankton) would be a cool one to
review….I don’t know, you could give me an assignment, just like J. Jonah
Jameson.

BUDDY: Yeah, go ahead. I actually have seen that recently. It came in a 3 pack
with The Dark, and The Being.

That last email was on Feb. 4th. I never started the review. I kept telling myself, I just didn’t have the time right now and I’d get to it….then I get this email on the 7th.

BUDDY: how’s the review going?

OH FUCK! He was serious….and I need to get working on this damn review…so I shot him back a little white lie.

ME: Started working on my review…I hope to have it to you by next weekend if that’s okay. Don’t feel obligated to use it if you feel it doesn’t fit in…

BUDDY: Hope to have it by next weekend? Jesus, who are you Frank Fuckin’ Herbert? Crank that motherfucker out and we’ll get along fine. Do you have a way to grab screengrabs from it? I have the disc if you don’t. Feel free to come up with funny captions if you want. Rib will change em if they really suck. That’s the hardest part to write I think, but no joke is really too stupid.

Screengrabs? Oh, man, the panic was really building…..calm the fuck down and just go watch the movie…first, email your buddy back…play it cool…use a little humor…

ME: It’s up to 15 pages, typed, double spaced at this point…actually, I just started re-watching it yesterday. I don’t have a way to do screengrabs…so that will have to be up to you guys.

BUDDY: Don’t worry about the review being perfect, I don’t. I’ve read your blogs, which are good, so think of it like that. If you wanna contribute reviews semi-regularly afterward, that’s fine. Obviously, you’re free to be obscene, which is fun.

His last email calmed my nerves some. I have found my voice in AWESOMENESS… and really do enjoy writing my little blog. I guess the thing is, the blog is for me. Sure, I obviously write to be read by others, but ultimately, I just post stuff for my own selfish enjoyment. By offering my writing to someone else I was really putting myself out there. This isn’t some paper for school (which I agonize over…just ask The Wife), this was for someone else’s website.

Let me stop here and stress one thing: I AM A VIRGO.

“Astrologers broadly agree that the following are the characteristics of Virgo:
The Virgo is prone to being overly proud, fussy, nervous, pedantic, petty, self-conscious, harsh, paranoid, scared of being sick, aloof, calculating, hard-edged, overly critical, judgmental, pretentious, snobby, nervous, timid, compulsive, folds under pressure, a perfectionist, stubborn, and conservative.”
-Astrologers

…and that’s the absolute fucking truth. I am my own worse critic…as I assume most people are, but I’m really, really hard on myself. Well, it was time to get to work! I watched CREATURES FROM THE ABYSS armed only with a pad of paper, a pen, and my pretentious (yet self-conscious) wit.

After the film I was left with these:

Two pages filled with cryptic references to Clint Howard, Alec Holland, Joey Silvera, PRIVATE MEDIA GROUP and other not so obscure people and places….and then there’s 100s of word combinations like: swank bar glass chrome sectional, slapping method, Dadaist manifesto, Julie looks dead but still hot, extreme caviar birthing, and my favorite: “Not a fish pedophile.”

What in the hell am I supposed to do with that?! Get to writing, that’s what, Canacorn!

So I sat my ass at the computer and wrote…and wrote…and wrote…and 1,350 words later I was left with this:


A BIG ASS TURD IN MY HAND.

Or so I thought.

I emailed my buddy the review on Feb. 16th and waited for his critique. Man, was I nervous…I mean, I’m about to be judged on my opinions of a shitty horror movie and how I decided to express my feelings about said shitty horror movie by a guy who has lived and breathed shitty horror movies a good decade longer than I have. All I could picture was J. Jonah Jameson ripping me and my review to shreds.

Well…I did hear back from my buddy…and he liked it…he said it was great. Uh, wow…So not too shabby for my first go…and I got lucky by having an easy editor.

Here’s the trailer:

So, enough is enough…here’s the link to my 1st online review:

PLANKTON

12 Responses to “A Big Ass Turd In My Hand.”

  1. joe Says:

    maybe all my years reading too much grant morrison and steve aylett have made me far too much meta
    (meta what? metahuman. (hi-fives ensue. joe is awesome. joe wakes up.)
    but, without reading the review you wrote. as an editor, i would be tempted to run with what you wrote right there. you even have “screen grabs” (love the notes by the way.) i’m now more interested in watching the movie from this than i would be from an actual review.
    hell.
    i’m not gonna read your review. i’m gonna watch it in the dark based on this entry alone.

  2. mrcanacorn Says:

    Thanks, Joe…I can always count on you to not read my reviews. So, everyone, don’t read Joe’s Blog: New Worlds Fair…it’s on my blogroll…but I never click on it…so you shouldn’t either.

  3. joe Says:

    here i was thinking i wrote a compliment.
    (kicks the sand a bit)
    nobody ever understands me.

  4. mrcanacorn Says:

    Joe..it was a joke, buddy. Damn, I knew I should have used one of those smiley face emoticons! 🙂

  5. Mrs. Campbell Says:

    Dude, the link to your review doesn’t work!

  6. mrcanacorn Says:

    That’s strange..it works on my computer. Go here:
    http://www.gorillanaut.com/reviews/Plankton.php

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Hnyahhahhah. You Virgo. I’m sure glad it all worked out, though. So…yer Moon Boy now? Okay, I kin dig it… Good job on the review, I love your writing! Try not to torture yourself so much next time, though, okay! It’s just your reputation on the line, sheesh!

  8. Catherine Avril Morris Says:

    Oops, didn’t realize that was gonna be anonymous. That annoying comment from “Anonymous” was from me, Catherine Avril Morris.

  9. joe Says:

    jeebus, that movie was fucking awesome!
    “doctor, when did you start having sex with fish?”
    “they were old enough.”

  10. Sumir Adodra Says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a amazing job with
    this. Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Internet explorer.
    Exceptional Blog!

  11. Maurine Says:

    It’s awesome to go to see this web page and reading the views of all mates about this paragraph, while I am also zealous of getting knowledge.

  12. hack into facebook messages Says:

    Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, really
    like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.


Leave a Reply

