Sometimes You Buy ‘Em Just For The Covers.

You guys remember the TIMEX SOCIAL CLUB? I didn’t, but the cover for the Rumors 12″ was hard to pass up. They only had this one hit…but it was obviously good enough for Bobby Jimmy and the Critters to spoof with…ROACHES!

In addition to the TSC I also grabbed:

The soundtrack to RISKY BUSINESS…you know, it’s not all BOB SEGER on this one…you also get TANGERINE DREAM, MUDDY WATERS, JEFF BECK, PRINCE, JOURNEY, and PHIL COLLINS!


Oh, the “sexy train ride”….

STEVE WALSHSCHEMER DREAMER…love the cover, but the KANSAS front man’s musical stylings leave me a little cold.

If you don’t know by now, I’ll tell you again…I have a undying love for DISCO…and Keep On Jumpin’ by MUSIQUE makes me smile.

I don’t know about you, but I feel the need to learn more about GERRY BLEDSOE and SOUL ALIVE.

My favorite find this round of record buying was GAYLE MCCORMICK – FLESH & BLOOD. This record surprised the shit out me. I had no idea who Gayle was until I did some poking around on the interweb. Imagine my pleasant surprise when I found out this was her:

SMITHBaby it’s you

Sweetness…her solo stuff is pure whiskey soaked rhythm and blues with a hearty helping of blue eyed soul…check her out.

One Response to “Sometimes You Buy ‘Em Just For The Covers.”

  1. joe Says:

    i’ve had the rumours 12′ for a while now.
    i’m glad you finally got hip to it.
    i don’t have a camera nor the skills to post a photo but i just scored the “pirate movie” soundtrack.
    remember when kristi mcnicol was the molly ringwald of the early eighties?

    and i don’t even want to mention the awesome “nighthawks” record that i scored.


Leave a Reply

