“All the women are strong, all the men are good-looking, and all the children are above average.”

The Wife and I were driving home from work, listening to a cool little story on All Things Considered. (I know what you’re thinking, “Oh, how Thirtysomething of you.” Well, whatever…I am 35 for Christ’s sake.)

Anyway, Michele Norris was interviewing Jennifer 8 Lee about her upcoming book, THE FORTUNE COOKIE CHRONICLES. I was all into the segment right up until Michelle, in her oh-so-perfect NPR voice, says:

“Hm, the Lake Wobegon Effect in a fortune cookie.”

I jammed on the brakes and screamed at The Wife, “What did she just say? Did she say what I think she said? Lake fucking Wobegon?!”

I guess I should take a second and stress…I HATE LAKE WOBEGON….I mean, what in the Hell gives that toad faced, human sleeping pill, Garrison Keillor, the nerve to have an Effect named after his little fictional town?! Argh!

And what the fuck is “THE LAKE WOBEGON EFFECT?!” Is there really such a thing? The answer is, “YES!”

You’ve got to be kidding me. Okay, I read the Wiki, and it all seems pretty interesting…more interesting than a two hour snooze-a-thon of A PRAIRIE HOME COMPANION…but really? Lake Wobegon? Damn.

So, bottom line:
Jennifer 8 Lee has a new book coming out…she has a cool name and fortune cookies have an interesting story.

Michele Norris has a great radio voice…but totally pissed me off with her Wobegon Effect comment….but I guess it’s not her fault for being all smart about stuff.

I am indeed, 35 years of age.

Garrison and his quaint little stories of people who “overestimate their achievements and capabilities in relation to others” can kiss my skinny Irish ass!

3 Responses to ““All the women are strong, all the men are good-looking, and all the children are above average.””

  1. Myrtle Says:

    That’s what you fucking get for listening to NPR.

    Sucka. 🙂

  2. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    You know what’s most annoying about bleeding heart liberals? when they start talking about their feelings and shit. Unbearable.
    I don’t know who Jennifer 8 Lee is but I wanna cut her fucking arms off and beat Diablo Cody to death with them.

  3. Myrtle Says:

    No, you know what’s most annoying about bleeding heart liberals? They think that “everyone is good” – from axe murders on down to child molesters.

    Ooooh, can I put a number in my name?

    Now I’ll be Myrtle 138 Cranky, Esq.


Leave a Reply

