Rings, Bitches!

Stunning poster, huh? I remember staring slack jawed at it way back in 1978. As a kid I loved walking past the wall of NOW SHOWING and COMING SOON posters on the way to the ticket booth at our local theater….and after the films, my folks would indulge me in stopping by every poster again on the way to the car.

I was only six in 1978, so I hadn’t read THE RINGS yet, but I was somehow familiar with the story…and that poster…wow. It wasn’t until Bakshi’s RINGS made it’s way to the small screen, did I get to see Middle-earth come to life.

But this isn’t a review of Bakshi’s film…just a quick pit stop down memory lane. Today, I was feeling a bit geeky so I put on the 1978 LOTR soundtrack.

Truthfully, I didn’t really remember any musical cues or even the “Theme From Lord Of The Rings”, but I did get a memory jolt when the “Helm’s Deep” track started. That doesn’t mean I was disappointed with Leonard Rosenman’s score, actually, it was pretty damn exciting. Strangely enough, the more I listened to RINGS the more I kept thinking of the PLANET OF THE APES films. Imagine my surprise when I did a little nosing around on the interweb and found out that Mr. Rosenman scored both BENEATH and BATTLE ape films. Cool, right?

Anyway, the LOTR lp is a nifty gatefold with some awesome interior art:

Here’s a quick snippet of the Orcs at helm’s Deep:

Rewatching that little piece makes it perfectly clear why that music has stuck with me…I’m kind of a sucker for chanting…must be the Roman Catholic in me.

Oh, I also found this 6 minute video (strictly for all you nerds out there):

The Untold Story Of Ralph Bakshi’s Return of the King

Fim by: Scott Jonston

C’mon, Bakshi, get off your ass and put out Big Titty Girls Meet Spiderman, already!

3 Responses to “Rings, Bitches!”

  1. Myrtle Says:

    Please dont whip out the soundtrack for Phantom of the Paradise next! 😉

  2. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    I just bought the soundtrack for Phantom of the Paradise. -carburetors man, that’s what life is all about. Made my poor dad drive me and my nerd friends across New Orleans to go see LOTR in 78. I was in D&D mode then. The original D&D, not that faggy AD&D with paladins, druids and shit.

  3. mrcanacorn Says:

    I still love Beef’s line, “I know DRUG real from REAL real!” I actually own POTP on cd and vinyl…I paid a pretty penny for an import cd and wouldn’t you know it…a used lp came in about a month later.

    So, Myrt, ask and you shall receive! POTP LP review coming up soon! 🙂


Leave a Reply

