An Unparalled Electronic Achievement!

I found a blog the other day that caught my eye…it’s kind of nerdy…wait…I take that back.

It’s super nerdy! There’s this guy (at least I think it’s a guy) who decided to blog about his collection of TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES comic books.

He even has a mission statement:

1. Going through my nigh-complete set of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles comics one at a time, a few a week, forever.

2. Writing up a stupid little taste of something for each damn one.

3. Refusing to pun.

WTF, right? But I’m totally fascinated by this idea…because I am also a nerd. So, I’ve started making my way through his posts and the one on FUGITOID got me thinking about that show with Urkel…

FAMILY MATTERS.

I was aware that this show existed, but never really watched it. Sure I saw an episode here and there, but the bulk of my tee-vee viewing was not spent on sitcoms about middle class African-American families living in Chicago.

So what does all this have to do with the title of today’s blog? Well, I was trying to explain the TMNT blog to a buddy at work and we got to talking about Urkel. Being about 6 years younger than me, he actually watched FAMILY MATTERS even though he hated Urkel. When one of our workmates (okay, I guess I don’t have to say this, but I’m going to say it anyway…he’s Black) walked by, we asked him how he felt about Urkel.

Black workmate: Urkel? I love Urkel.
Me: What about robot Urkel?
Black workmate: Oh, robot Urkel was DOPE!
Me: Fair enough.

Was robot Urkel really dope? There was only one way to find out…TO THE INTERWEB!

After some research and this video, I have decided that the answer is, “Yes. Robot Urkel was indeed dope.”

You see, robot Urkel was played by none other than MICHAEL BOOGALOO SHRIMP CHAMBERS! That’s right, Boners, Turbo from the BREAKIN’ movies!

Peep the technique!

In my modest (and White) opinion, the real Urkel was an annoying character, but if it wasn’t for him, the world would be without that dope robot….so I guess Urkel is okay in my book.

10 Responses to “An Unparalled Electronic Achievement!”

  1. Soylent Steve Says:

    Urkel lived in SF.

    FUCK MAN!

  2. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    I met the Urkel once, before he had some ribs removed so he could become Marilyn Manson.

  3. Myrtle Says:

    Urkel schmerkel – what about Balki?

  4. mrcanacorn Says:

    UMMMM, did Balki make a totally dope robot? No? Then let Steve blog about him.

  5. Pomdog Says:

    I couldn’t stand Urkel.

    However, I can tell you as a comic book guy that the Turtles was one of my big fuck ups. To this day. I saw issue one on the stands… there were like 5-6 copies. I said out loud to myself “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles?! You’ve GOT to be kidding me. Who the fuck would buy this?”

    Well, here’s someone who did:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtles-1-CGC-9-2-1st-Print-1984_W0QQitemZ250230479276QQihZ015QQcategoryZ77QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

  6. mrcanacorn Says:

    Unfuckingbelieveable!

  7. Beal Says:

    I prefer to think of it as mega nerdy, but thanks for the mention anyway. And for the record: yes, I am a guy, and yes, I’ll be emailing you some cock shots to prove it.

  8. mrcanacorn Says:

    What it is, is mega slow! Stop taking photos of your junk and get to reviewing your comics!

    I figured you were male…but you never know..I’ve met some mega nerdy ladies on the interweb.


Leave a Reply

