MAN-UP MONDAYS!

Okay, kids, I’m starting a new regular feature here at AWESOMENESS FOR AWESOME’S SAKE…all about men. It’s not going to be about health issues, sports stats, or how to pick up chicks, or whatever else men are supposed to be into…but about the men who make Mr. Canacorn’s world a better place to live in.

They aren’t all going to be heroes…Hell, most of them won’t be…they aren’t always going to be real…but they all will have one thing in common…

THEY ARE THE APOTHEOSIS OF MAN!

So, let’s get to the first masculine specimen in MAN-UP MONDAYS!


SHEMP HOWARD (March 17, 1895-November 23, 1955)

In Jewish culture, a boy becomes a man when he turns thirteen. In Stooge culture, it happens when he learns to love Shemp.

The Stooges played a significant role in the development of my sense of humor, much to the dismay of my mother. For some reason, mom thought The Stooges were “too violent” or some such nonsense. You know, I’ve rarely met a woman that could truly appreciate the physical slaphappy stylings of these comedy masters…needless to say, The Wife is certainly not a fan…and most certainly won’t be reading today’s post…oh well, her loss.

Moe, Larry, and Curly were a fine trio, but Shemp is by far my favorite Stooge…and don’t get me started on that whiny sissy, Joe Besser…man, I hate Besser…anyway, back to Shemp. His sense of physical timing is close to perfection, his facial expressions are often imitated but never duplicated, and his hair is the greasiest prop ever used to elicit laughter in comedy history.

To really be sold on Shemp, you just have to see him in action…

Here’s Shemp in the Stooge short, “FRIGHT NIGHT
SHEMPTASTIC!

Oh man, he slays me! There’s been a shit ton written about the man by far better writers than me…To learn more about The Man, The Myth, The Third Stooge head on over to WALL OF SHEMP!

Stay tuned for more manliness to come, every Monday, only at Awesomeness For Awesome’s Sake!

6 Responses to “MAN-UP MONDAYS!”

  1. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    Hey remember when you were on that makeover show? I quit watching after you told that one gay guy that you were a Virgo. Anyway, I have to go rotate my tires.

  2. Pomdog Says:

    Good idea, Mr C.

    I love Shemp… but better than Curly? Not in my book.

    And Curly Joe sucks ass.

  3. Soylent Steve Says:

    At least Joe Besser ws friendly.

    Curly Joe looked like he wanted to tear you apart with his bare hands.

    I gotta go with Curly although as I got older I deveoped an appreciation for the highly under rated Larry.

    Either way, the Marx Brothers still rule.

    Finalwordcaseclosed.

  4. mrcanacorn Says:

    **Dr. J., you would like Fake Shemp…I’d write more to you, but the totally manly American Idol is coming on!

    **Oh Pom, ever the nice guy…grow a pair like Steve and let’s argue the finer points of Curly vs. Shemp! 😉

    **Steve, no one tells a Canacorn when it’s “Finalwordcaseclosed”! In case you forgot, I’m from Lynn, buddy…I’ll send my 40 plus first cousins your way to give you a good old fashioned Irish ass-kickin! Oh, The Marx Bros are great, but a little too high brow for my potato eatin’ kind.

  5. Pomdog Says:

    Actually, i’d rather argue that the Marx Brothers were better than the Stooges…


Leave a Reply

