Man-Up Mondays!

It’s a sad day here at Awesomeness For Awesome’s Sake…one of my personal heroes is no longer with us.

Today’s Man-Up Monday man of honor was going to be that wonderful prick, Dabney Coleman, but he has been bumped until next week so we can pay tribute to the one and only…


John Charles Carter (October 4, 1924 – April 5, 2008)

“I’ve played three presidents, three saints and two geniuses – and that’s probably enough for any man” -Charlton Heston

There’s so much I could say about Chuck…but I seem to be at a loss for words right now (This is rare, just ask The Wife)…

Okay, deep breath…Chuck has been one of my favorite actors since I was just a little guy playing PLANET OF THE APES with my cousin in Auntie Sue’s rumpus room. He was the coolest, gravel voiced, barrel chested, squared jaw, take no bullshit, get the girl, tough guy that ever graced the silver screen.

Now I know the Liberals got all into hating on Chuck due to the fact that he’s just another rich, old, white male…and something about the NRA…

Well, I try not to let my political views interfere with my movie watching, but did you know that before the Roarin’ Reagan 80s, Mr. Heston was a strong supporter of CIVIL RIGHTS and opposed to the VIETNAM WAR? Huh…who knew?

But I’m not here to turn AWESOMENESS into some sort of political discussion…I’ll leave that to other bloggers who are more into educating their readers instead of trying to entertain them.

Back to Chuck…not only did he play MARK ANTONY, MOSES, and MICHAELANGELO…but he also acted his ass off as A MEXICAN, A FRENCHMAN, and A PIRATE!

He was a true AMERICAN ORIGINAL…and 100% ALL MAN….I’m seriously bummed…Chuck, I’ll miss you, you old son of a bitch!

I hereby do declare CHARLTON HESTON as first entity in the MAN-UP MONDAY’S GODHEAD!


“If this god is God, he would live on every mountain, in every valley. He would not be the god of Ishmael or Israel alone, but of all men. It is said he created all men in his image. He would dwell in every heart, every mind, every soul.”

CHARLTON HESTON….MAN OR GOD?

5 Responses to “Man-Up Mondays!”

  1. Soylent Steve Says:

    Well ya gotta love Chuck….

    My dream death for him would have been if one of his Grandkids found his AR-11 Assault rifle and said “Grampy…what’s thi…..BOOM!”

    Then the kid drops the gun, gets on a boat and goes to Sicily…meets Apollonia…teaches her how to say the days of the week in english, marries her, witnesses her death and finally comes back home to take his rightful place in the family.

    But your points are all good.

    Well said Canacorn….

  2. CJ Says:

    Right on target about CH. He was awesome and what a diverse career. Well said.

  3. Pomdog Says:

    I was never a huge fan of Charlton.. but i’ll give him the Sci Fi grand slam from 68-73. (“Beneath” being a favor, by the way).

    “Planet” has one of the greatest endings of all time for me.
    And Soylent always has been a favorite.

    So, do you forgive him for “The Colbys?”

  4. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    I like Chuck. You know assault rifles are really fun to shoot.

  5. Myrtle Says:

    Uh, hello? Phone ringing scene of Omega Man = BEST EVER! 🙂


Leave a Reply

