The Most Significant Televisual Event Since “Quantum Leap”…

What could it be,” you ask?

Just a little show from the 80s called Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace! Never heard of it? I’m surprised…I mean, you must have read one or two of Garth’s novels…look over on the bookshelf…nestled between James Joyce and Stephen King…surely THE TITAN OF TERROR resides between these other literary giants!

Do you see a copy of SLICER or AFTERBIRTH or THE OOZE?

NO? What the fuck, man?! Oh, not “a reader”…That’s cool. Well, lucky for you The One Man Fear Factory made a television show and Channel 4 has finally decided to release DARKPLACE…the show that was considered “too subversive, too dangerous, too damn scary” to be aired! Not only do you get the first 6 episodes but also present day interviews with Garth and the rest of the cast!

Here’s a very brief description of DARKPLACE from the wiki:

“The series’…premise is that…in the 1980s, best-selling horror author Garth Marenghi and his publisher/publicist, Dean Learner, made their own…television series with a single intent: “to change the evolutionary course of Man over a series of half-hour episodes.” Set in Darkplace Hospital, “over the very gates of Hell,” in Romford, East London, Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace shows the adventures of Dr. Rick Dagless, M.D., as he fights the forces of darkness while simultaneously coping with the pressures of working in a modern hospital.”

If you’re a fan of KOLCHAK: THE NIGHT STALKER, WEREWOLF, and SWAMP THING then you owe it to yourself to at least check out the first episode…I’ve made it easy for you:

ONCE UPON A BEGINNING (PART 1)

PART 2

PART 3

Go here to learn more about The Dream Weaver, Garth Marenghi!

16 Responses to “The Most Significant Televisual Event Since “Quantum Leap”…”

  1. Myrtle Says:

    So THAT’s who that is! He sent me a friend request ages ago on my old MySpace profile, and I had him for quite a while, but never talked. Man, if I would have known….

    And yes, OF COURSE Myrtle is a fan of Kolchak: The Night Stalker. My first born will be named Kolchak.

    Kolchak Morrissey 😛

  2. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    Looks like a parody of Shaun Hutson. I think I caught some kind of lame virus from watching CLOVERFIELD.

  3. mrcanacorn Says:

    Myrt, you should ask Dr. J about his Kolchak drinking game…I’m surprised we’re not dead…

    I just Googled Shaun H…..never heard of him, but I want to check him out…oh, and according to the wiki about Shaun, you’re right:

    “He is according to some the chief inspiration for comedy character Garth Marenghi, a caricature of a self-absorbed horror writer.”

  4. mrcanacorn Says:

    Didn’t get around to CLOVERFIELD yet…I’m all sucked into the BSG, man! Human-Cylon hybrids!!! That shit ain’t right!

  5. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    I thought it was him at first, they look alike-same glasses. He was at a Fango show I went to in the 80’s, back then he was more metal poser. I read “Slugs” and maybe “Erebus”. I wanna say there was a demonic monster baby one in there somewhere. He’s a hack but was mildly amusing. A lesser James Herbert clone. He’s no Guy Smith.

  6. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    I of course mean Guy N. Smith. Check that guy out. Best killer crab books ever.

  7. mrcanacorn Says:

    6 books about killer crabs?! Wow…I’m intrigued.

  8. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    Yeah, I know. That post took me back to a crazy time. Reading all those sleazy paperbacks, Iron Maiden records, lots of weed. I looked in my garage and found the paperback “Carnosaur”, which is a sleazy, gorier “Jurassic Park”. It came out before JP though. For some reason, a lot of this shit was British. Those crab books are stupid nuts. Those James Herbert Rat books were great too.

  9. mrcanacorn Says:

    Your brain is an amazing place…I am always in awe of your endless knowledge of all things cool. Someday I’m gonna’ grow up to be just like you.

  10. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    Now you’re mocking the H-man, err…J-man…whatever. I found one Hutson book in my garage, ‘Erebus” but sadly no “Slugs”. Feel free to review some sleazy horror fiction for http://www.gorillanaut.com.

  11. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    on a somewhat related note: Ever hear of Lionel Fanthorpe. He cranked out tons of pulpy sci-fi. Here’s a site with a lot of awesome cover art.http://www.peltorro.com/gallery.htm

  12. mrcanacorn Says:

    Holee shit! I just spent the past hour browsing the links on this SITE.

    Many blog ideas to be found!

  13. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    I couldn’t get it to work.

  14. mrcanacorn Says:

    cut and paste: http://www.bitlounge.net/retrolounge/paperbacks_links.swf

    It has the Lionel Fanthorpe link plus a ton of other ones…you might already know about it…

    I haven’t read any sleazy books in a while…are you going to do some for g’naut?

  15. Myrtle Says:

    Why yes, Mr. Candy Corn – that is the most amazing page Myrtle has viewed in a long time. Almost as good as this –

    http://blog.modernmechanix.com/

    You’re welcome 😉

  16. Dr Julius Limbani Says:

    Yeah, I’ll do some books. I got some comics almost done for the blog. I suppose I’d like to find some more of those 70’s-80’s sleaze horror. They seem harder to find these days.


Leave a Reply

