Dear Funny Games (2007)

Dear FUNNY GAMES (2007)*,

I was so totally into you last night. You had me right from the get. At one point I even told The Wife, “This is the best horror movie I’ve seen in years.” Then it happened. Don’t act all coy…you know exactly what part I’m talking about. What a way to ruin a whole movie….No, no, don’t bother trying to explain…I’m familiar with Metafictionand Metafilm. I get it, really. But you totally cheated by trying to get across some kind of message.

As Bill Duke would say, “You know you done fucked up, don’t you? You know it, don’t you? You know you done fucked up.

But you don’t. You think you’re sooooo clever and smart.

I hate you, FUNNY GAMES.


“You shouldn’t forget the importance of entertainment.”

*This is also for you, FUNNY GAMES (1997)!

3 Responses to “Dear Funny Games (2007)”

  1. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I keep hearing “meta” a lot. Don’t care for it myself. Don’t plan on seeing FUNNY GAMES. Sounds pretentious and annoying, like France. But I did watch three French movies lately. One (THEM) was terrible but the other two, INSIDE and FRONTIERE(S) were great, as if France grew balls and discovered stage blood. INSIDE is the unrelenting gruesome home invasion story about fucking psycho bitch wanting to cut out a woman’s baby the day before she is to deliver. Holy crap, it’s a bloody mess. FRONTIERE(S), and I have no idea why it’s spelled like that, is TEXAS CHAINSAW with Nazis in rural France. France has issues.

  2. mrcanacorn Says:

    FG was so damn good and brutal…it was a nice blend of Straw Dogs meets Clockwork Orange meets Henry with a dash of Last House On The Left…but it fucked itself by getting all “too clever for it’s own good”. I know The Intelligentsia will be all over this like white on rice, sneering down their noses at Regular Joes like me who want a horror film to be a fucking horror film again.

    I was robbed. Tricked. Hoodwinked. Bamboozled. Rooked.

  3. bwanavoodoo Says:

    You’d like those two French flicks, they don’t have some goofy viewpoint about trying to make you feel like an asshole for watching them. INSIDE got pulled from Wal-mart, always a good sign. One even has the Nazis that you blog about constantly.


Leave a Reply

