@ # * !

A few months ago The Wife asked me what I wanted for my upcoming 36th birthday. As usual I said something like,

I don’t know…I don’t really care…

Which isn’t true. I can think of a million things I want. But what I meant was,

I can’t really think of something super special that you can get for me.

Then it hit me!

Oh, I know! Remember when I found one of my favorite comic creators, Rick Veitch, online? Well, he used to do this thing where if you sent him a picture of yourself, he’d draw you with a character of your choice in the page of a comic. Not a comic to be published, but your own page of a comic that exists only for you! How cool is that? I’m not sure how much it would cost…I think it costs more if you pick a character he’s never drawn before, but I’d love to have one done of me and Dr. Blasphemy!

I really wanted to include a picture of Dr. Blasphemy from Rick’s super awesome BRATPACK in this here post, but I couldn’t find any online…but I did find this sketch Rick did for a guy (named Corey…what were the chances?!) on Flickr. He’s pretty cool, huh? Imagine if The Wife could actually pull this off!

You see, when I first read about Rick’s custom work was years and years ago…I still had dial up, MySpace didn’t exist in my world, and Rick was only to be found at Comicon.com. Now, Rick has a fancy blog and a MySpace page! This should be pretty easy for The Wife after all.

Not so fast, Canacorns.

The Wife found Rick’s blog (he’s on my Blogroll under “Comic Creators“) but didn’t see any mention of this “personalized sketch thing” her delusional husband was talking about. Never one to give up (especially on her husband), she emailed Rick.

On Jul 28, 2008, at 3:00 PM, Noelle Corcoran wrote:

Hi Rick!

My husband tells me that once upon a time, you did custom drawings of people as their favorite superhero…

Do you still do this type of work? If so, I’m interested in having one done for my husband’s birthday.
Please let me know when you can!

Thanks Much,
Noelle

And lo and behold…Rick wrote her back!

Hi Noelle,
Sorry, but I have so much work right now I’m not taking commissions (don’t want to disappoint folks by not being able to deliver).

Thanks for thinking of me though!
Rick

http://www.rickveitch.com/

Wow. That’s pretty cool. I guess it’s my own damn fault for waiting over 3 years to ask for this present. Rick is super busy..if you didn’t already know, he has a new ongoing series for DC’s Vertigo line called Army@Love…which looks like another amazing project from Rick’s fertile imagination.

So, I don’t get a personalized sketch this year, but I really have the best present of all time anyway…

The best wife in the whole damn world!

oh, and new material from Rick Veitch ain’t so bad either….but I really wonder if he’ll ever finish The King Hell Heroica cycle? Don’t know what I’m talking about? Peep this Awesomness!

*And thanks to Rick’s Myspace page I found another talented comic creator who does have the time to do some custom work for a present for The Wife! Check out Leah’s work HERE…she’s totally going to be doing a portrait of our little troublemaker, Ozzy.

3 Responses to “@ # * !”

  1. Amanda By Night Says:

    Awww, that was so sweet. I’m glad you had an awesome birthday and an awesome wife to go with it!

  2. aunt john Says:

    Welcome to the 36 Club, Mr. C.! I joined in late July, and it has been nothing less than awesome knowing that I am 18 years older than the minimum age to buy smokes.

  3. Catherine Avril Morris Says:

    The best wife in the whole world, *sigh*… Y’all are just so sweet!

    And happy birthday!!


Leave a Reply

