Man-Up Mondays!

Say What? A Man-Up?!

You bet, kids…but it’s a quick one.

You know him, you admire him…hell, some of you heathen monkeys even fear him!

It’s ROGER “RACE” T. BANNON!

A man who cracked wise in the face of danger!

This man was my hero for years. Learn a little something about one of the toughest men to ever be animated!

8 Responses to “Man-Up Mondays!”

  1. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I never realized it until fairly recently, but Race Bannon and most of Jonny Quest is pretty much straight out of Doc Savage. I’ve been getting into the Doc the last couple of years, I probably have 50 of the paperbacks. Pretty cool pulp stuff. Jonny Quest is a pretty awesome adventure tv show. You could never do it now. No asian villians, kids with guns, nazis, old school natives. Remember Race’s hot lady friend, Jade?

  2. mrcanacorn Says:

    It originally aired in prime time and when the reruns were airing on Saturday mornings they pulled it, just for the reasons you mentioned.

    I don’t remember Jade, but I found this:

    http://tonova.typepad.com/thesuddencurve/2005/08/armed_and_dange.html

    I never got into Doc S. but the book covers always caught my eye as a kid…I wanted them to be comics.

  3. bwanavoodoo Says:

    James Bama did the best paperback covers
    http://www.paulcook-sci-fi.com/DocImagesNewPage1.htm

    He also did cool monster art for the original Aurora model boxes

  4. mrcanacorn Says:

    Wow..those fucking rule!

    Did you ever read Planetary? It had a Doc Brass based on Doc S.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doc_Brass

    What’s up with this 1975 film?

  5. bwanavoodoo Says:

    It’s a fairly goofy George Pal flick. Entertaining but dopey, pretty tongue in cheek. I have a vhs, I don’t think it’s on dvd. When I was 11 the tv commercials for it were pretty exciting.

  6. Amanda By Night Says:

    OK, Race Bannon is simply the hottest cartoon ever. EVER. I’ve been in love with him almost as long as I’ve been in love with Parker Stevenson! Yeah, that long.

    So a little info about Jade… in this one episode there are two Race Bannons. The real one and an imposter sent out by Dr. Zen (Zin?) to do some evil bidding. The real Race is kdinapped and only Johnny and Haji seem to see the difference. Jade shows up and they tell her they think he’s a fake and she’s all “Silly boys,” or something and then she sees Race and kisses him.

    In the next scene she’s driving Johnny and Haji somewhere in the hopes of finding the real Race and Johnny says, “How did you know he wasn’t the real Race?”

    And she says, “There are some ways in which a woman cannot be fooled.”

    And she was right. It was my first lesson in womanhood.

  7. Jan Says:

    Anybody know what happened to the guy, Mike Road, who did Race Bannon’s voice? He’s alive and retired. Anything else?

  8. mrcanacorn Says:

    Hey Jan, I sure don’t…I didn’t find too much info on the internet other than the various screen credits.

    Bwana, you never cease to amaze me with stuff like this…do you know what happened to Mike Road?


Leave a Reply

