Rocktober! Day 18

So yesterday was a bit of the new school of heavy metal, but today is all about the early days of Doom Metal!

Remember Saint Vitus? I remember looking at pictures of those dudes when I was in my early teens and thinking, “Those are some scary dudes.” Metallica looked like guys I went to school with, but Saint Vitus looked like a bunch of wild bikers…or worse, wild, meth addled bikers that worshiped the devil…or something even more sinister…like, wild, meth addled bikers that worshiped the devil and raped teenage runawaysboys or girls!

Whatever…all I’m trying to say was, they freaked me out. And their band name….snatched right from the song titles off of Sabbath Vol 4St. Vitus’ Dance, a thinly veiled song about cocaine addiction or just another tune about apraxia? I’m not sure, but either way, only a band of crazed freaks would choose it as their band name.

Well, I finally got around to listening to their music…I realized that Saint Vitus was just a bunch of dudes, who may or may not be wild, meth addled bikers that worshiped the devil and rape teenage runaways, that write really cool songs with some heavy riffage.

Check Zombie Hunger, a song about being a zombie, with original singer, Scott Reagers:

Now check out a song about being a troll, called, The Troll, with singer and guitarist, Scott “Wino” Weinrich:

Thanks, Saint Vitus, for making Rocktober a bit more doomier today!

3 Responses to “Rocktober! Day 18”

  1. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I never listened to them. Just assumed they would be all Sabbathy.

  2. mrcanacorn Says:

    Kind of…I dig ’em. And can you really go wrong with more bands sounding like Sabbath?

  3. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I can’t listen to Sabbath except maybe the Dio stuff. Just burned out. The only times I saw them they were horrible but that was at the tail end of the Ozzy years when they had those two terrible records. It seemed like they went away for awhile in the 80’s then got popular again. I still like Sabatage though. I never really liked the Ozzy solo stuff. I didn’t realize St Vitus had been around that long.


Leave a Reply

