Rocktober! Day 20

The 20th of Rocktober belongs to one man and one man only.

Vincent Damon Furnier‘s records take up a sizable section of my record collection. There are so many great LPs, it’s hard to pick just one (never mind just one song) for Rocktober…but one record in particular seems to rise to the top when it comes to horror…

WELCOME TO MY NIGHTMARE. This cassette was in heavy rotation in my car in high school. (No, I wasn’t in high school in the mid seventies)…Anyway, there are so many awesome tracks on this record it’s hard to pick my favorite…maybe it’s Alice’s ode to necrophilia, Cold Ethyl (which wasn’t Alice’s first foray into the fridge)…

…or maybe it’s The Black Widow, featuring horror icon, Vincent Price:

Honestly, I will say that Years Ago, Stephen, and The Awakening actually gave me the heebie jeebies back in the day:

Man, I seriously need to get my hands on the Welcome To My Nightmare dvd!

Pretty spooky stuff, huh kids? Well, don’t be too freaked out…here’s Alice with The Muppets so you’re no too scared to go to sleep tonight:

Unpleasant dreams…..

5 Responses to “Rocktober! Day 20”

  1. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I listened to a recent record, DIRTY DIAMONDS. It was good, a lot more like his old stuff when he had his band. Before that I probably hadn’t heard anything since Poison.

  2. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I figured you might go for “He’s Back” since you love the Fri. 13ths.

  3. Soylent Steve Says:

    On top of it all, he was friends with Groucho.

    Someone needs to wake up and put Alice in the lame-arse Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame and Cafe.

    It may validate the fucking place.

  4. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I don’t know anything about the RnR Hall of Fame but I see Madonna is an inductee, so clearly it’s serious. I’ll wait till they finish the Phil Lynott wing.

  5. mrcanacorn Says:

    Alice’s older stuff is great…Dirty Diamonds was ok enough, but I didn’t buy it. He has a new concept record out about a serial killer called Along Came A Spider

    I haven’t heard it yet.

    I used The Man Behind The Mask last Halloween on my Myspace blog…so I didn’t feel like spotlighting it again…I do have a soft spot for that song though.

    Steve, you’re right! That’s the smartest thing you’ve said all month…and knowing how hard it is for you to shut it, that’s saying something!


Leave a Reply

