“A lot of people still don’t recognize the sampler as a musical instrument.”-RZA

247995-312490 Thanks to my new toy, the ipod nano, I’m slowly digging through our massive collection of cds…actually, our collection is nowhere near as massive as it once was…we’ve certainly done some fat trimming over the years which makes it easier to find the real gems hiding between all the ABBA and ZZ Top.

Like this one!

Ever hear of the Shaolin Soul compilation? It’s a totally awesome collection of deep soul songs that the Wu-Tang Clan has sampled over the years.

Now, if you didn’t already know, The Wu is kind of a big deal in Casa Canacorn…as well as soul music…so you can imagine my excitement when I found out there are 3 other volumes in this series!

And I found a site where you can download them all for FREE…well, kind of. They are free, but they’re not all available. 1 through 3 are, but 4 has been deleted. Which is kind of a bummer, but at least I was able to get my hands on volumes 2 and 3, right?

Okay, I can tell you really don’t give a shit…but what if I hit you up with some music?

Check out Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell‘s “You’re All I Need To Get By” (which might sound familiar to you Method Man fans).

Sweet, right? I love that fucking song. Oh, do you recognize the sample in this jam by Wendy Rene:

Good stuff! Oh, I almost forgot to hit you up with the link so you can download these songs for yourself….Shaolin Soul Vol. 1-4…just click the pretty pink words.

One last thing for you hip hop heads…click HERE to peep a pretty comprehensive (and impressive) list of Wu-Tang breaks courtesy of Wu-International.com!

4 Responses to ““A lot of people still don’t recognize the sampler as a musical instrument.”-RZA”

  1. bwanavoodoo Says:

    “A lot of people still don’t recognize the sampler as a musical instrument.”-RZA
    Yeah, because it isn’t. If I can do it, it’s not a musical instrument.
    But, Shaolin Soul sounds cool. I shall down load it.

  2. bwanavoodoo Says:

    looked like too much work.

  3. mrcanacorn Says:

    Even though it “looked” like too much work for your hairy paws, it was not, I assure you…I have to admit I was surprised in your interest is some soul music. Who knew Bwana had some soul in his big ol’ heart?

  4. art thief Says:

    http://jinkzmusings.blogspot.com/2007/12/va-shaolin-soul-vol-4.html

    here’s the missing volume.
    as to the value of the sampler, any damn fool can use his dick too, but it takes a virtuoso to make it sing.


Leave a Reply

