Playmate* And A Playa

Barbi Benton

Barbi Benton

Sometimes you’re just minding your own business, walking past the used vinyl section of your workplace, and not one, but two LPs jump out at you and shout, “BUY US….BUY USSSSSSSSSSSSS!

And…as always…I obey.

The first record to catch my eye featured a very beautiful 1970s lady striking a classic Gilley’s pose…but faster than you could say, “34B-23-34,” I realized that was no ordinary country gal….that was Barbi Benton!

Holy crap!

PB 406 1975

PB 406 1975

I honestly had no idea she recorded an album….but wait, turns out she’s recorded a handful of records throughout the 70s and 80s. How I didn’t know this is extremely embarrassing, let me tell you.

Anyway, this self titled LP features the hit, “Brass Buckles” plus a bunch of other 70s country crossover gems. There’s even a song written by Chuck Woolery on here….I’m guessing it’s that Chuck Woolery since he was in a band back in the 60s and they even had a semi hit with their groovy track, Naturally Stoned.

Nice.

Dance Your Ass Off

Dance Your Ass Off

The second LP that I just had to have was Dance Your Ass Off by Hamilton Bohannon.

Who?

Who cares.

You put a half naked woman (the bottom half no less) in high heels with a non ironic command to “PLAY THIS RECORD LOUD!” on the cover of your album, I’ll be sure to buy it and guaranteed to love the shit out of it while playing it loud, godammit!

Another way to keep me interested in your record is to have song titles like, Zulu, Bohannon’s Theme, and Trying To Be Slick…oh yeah, and write this on the back cover:

Special thanks to God, my master, savior and Jesus Christ for giving me strength and inspiration to write, arrange, direct, produce and record this album.”

Hamilton Frederick Bohannon

Hamilton Frederick Bohannon

Which is a pretty humble way of saying, “Here’s all the shit that I did thanks to God and Jesus Christ,” if you ask me.

Seriously though, once again I’m kind of embarrassed of having no knowledge of Bohannon.

This record is chock a block full of driving bass lines, funky drumming, disco strings and more foot stompin’ grooves than I thought humanly possible.

I too have to thank The Notorious G-O-D and JC Da Numba One Son for giving Mr. Bohannon the skills to make this record.

Don’t believe me?

Peep this:

Amen.

*”While being one of the best known women whose fame derives from appearing in Playboy magazine, contrary to popular belief, Barbi Benton has never been featured as a Playmate of the Month centerfold in the magazine. She also never worked as a Playboy Bunny.” –Wiki

2 Responses to “Playmate* And A Playa”

  1. junkdrawer Says:

    Hamilton Bohannon – A wonderful addition to our Sunday morning. Thanks Mr Awesome!

  2. You Can’t Feed A Baby LPs Part 1 « Awesomeness For Awesome’s Sake. Says:

    […] talked about the ass shaking power that is Bohannon before…and the BOHANNON FEVER LP is more of the same…so let’s get on this “Party […]


Leave a Reply

