99 Rivington Street

pboutique-001 Has it really been 20 years since a teenage Mr. Canacorn went to the mall to buy one of his most cherished records of all time?

I know I’ve been talking about some of my more recent LP purchases the past couple of days, but today is kind of special, so I’m going to spotlight an old record…

Paul’s Boutique by The Beastie Boys and The Dust Brothers (including Matt Dike) just might be my all time favorite record ever made.

pboutique-002 I couldn’t stop listening to this record for a year straight back in 89 and I still revisit it in one form or another to this day.

Lyrically it’s a ton of fun and with over a hundred samples packed into 15 tracks it never bores me. In fact, I just downloaded a commentary track from the Beastie‘s site, just in case I didn’t learn everything I possibly could about PB from Dan Leroy’s 33 1/3 book back in 06.

And really, it’s the only double gatefold record I own…still…to this day. And how cool is that?

pboutique-004

Pretty fucking cool, old man…pretty fucking cool.

6 Responses to “99 Rivington Street”

  1. Myrtle Says:

    Blah! I’m not impressed. Where’s the “Off the Wall” gatefold?

  2. Soylent Steve Says:

    You gotta love Pet Sounds though. ZING-O!

  3. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I’m just not that into you.
    But seriously, I probably shouldn’t have made fun of vinyl collectors. They’re great.

  4. MC Says:

    It was ahead of its time man… ahead of its time.


Leave a Reply

