“Uh Oh, Chongo!”

This is quite possibly the coolest and nerdiest thing I've ever seen.

This is quite possibly the coolest and nerdiest thing I've ever seen.

Here’s a Canacorn Fun Fact: I get up at 5:30am every weekday morning….even if I don’t have to.

I know, it sounds crazy…but I’m pretty sure that I’m slowly becoming a daywalker in my advancing years.

And get this, every morning a song (or two) gets stuck in my head while I perform my morning routines of cat feeding, coffee making, showering, and dressing. I’m not quite sure why some songs pop into the ol’ noggin on certain days, but I am convinced that these songs are some sort of horoscope…a predictive musical composition based on celestial influences to guide me through my day….or whatever.

Today I totally got an unrelated(?) two-fer….the first song was The Beach BoysI Know There’s An Answer…not the whole thing…mostly it was the chorus and the weird ass harmonica and banjo breakdown that happens around 1:40 into the song.

Okay, not too hard to figure out what I should be gleaming from that one…but then it morphed into the opening theme to The Banana Splits Adventure Hour?!

danger_islandHMMMMMMMMMMM, I’m not so sure if there’s any message hidden in all the Tra-La-Las, but I do know that when I think of one of my all time favorite childhood shows I can’t help but be reminded of DANGER ISLAND!

DANGER ISLAND was one of those childhood memories that was difficult to explain to friends during the dark days before The Internet existed.

I’d be all, “You remember, I know you do! A pre-AIRWOLF Jan Michael Vincent was on this island, and there were pirates, headhunters painted up like skeletons, a cool Black dude, and some crazy guy named Chongo that only speaks in some wacky gibberish?

Blank stares….

It had a really cool theme song…kind of Neil Hefti‘s BATMAN-ish sounding…and…and…

Even blanker stares and serious signs of disinterest….

Then I’d yell, “Uh oh, Chongo!

And then I’d be sitting by myself…again.

Well, fuck a bunch of that! It’s 2009, you ignorant sons-a-bitches, and all the DANGER ISLAND episodes are on YouTube! So it’s time to get hip and go traipsing down memory lane with your buddy, Mr. Canacorn…starting now!

Here’s the first episode:

Now go watch the rest of them HERE and amaze your friends with you new found knowledge of something cooler than the latest shitty episode of LOST…or whatever crap you kids are watching these days.

Hey, anybody else remember THE ARABIAN KNIGHTS?

4 Responses to ““Uh Oh, Chongo!””

  1. Darius Whiteplume Says:

    I freakin’ loved Danger Island. That is what adventures was to me. I liked the Arabian Knights too, but more so the Three Musketeers (or was it the Four?).

    Thanks for posting.

  2. iasa Says:

    I don’t remember Danger Island, but I’m going to go watch right now. That Banana Splits statue look great on my shelf.

  3. bwanavoodoo Says:

    I think Danger Island was directed by Richard Donner ( I call him “Dick”, long story)

  4. mrcanacorn Says:

    You’re right…I didn’t know that myself until I did some digging around yesterday. By far his best work.


Leave a Reply

