THE ROOM Week: Live In Austin

roomwk
Day 6, boners!

And some of y’all doubted my commitment to Sparkle Motion during THE ROOM Week!

Photo by Roger Patterson

Photo by Roger Patterson

When I decided to spend the days of May 4th through the 10th posting nothing but THE ROOM related awesomeness here on Awesomeness, I had no clue that The Wife and I would actually get to see the film up on the big screen.

But the stars lined up just right and like some sort of cosmic jigsaw puzzle all the pieces fell perfectly into place! Not only was THE ROOM coming to Austin right in the middle-ish of THE ROOM Week…but it’s visionary creator, Tommy Wiseau, would be accompanying it!

The screening sold out so fast The Alamo Drafthouse and Tommy decided to add a second show the same night. Lucky for me, The Wife was on it and snatched up our tickets toot sweet!

This was the first time THE ROOM had made its way to Austin…and the excitement was thick in the air! Guys showed up in tuxedo t shirts carrying footballs and roses while the women were adorned in their finest Scotchka fashions, id est, a “sexy dress” coupled with a necktie tied around their head.

We all may have been big screen THE ROOM virgins, but some of the evening’s theater goers had never even seen the best worst movie ever made (no offense, TROLL 2)!

Before the film we were treated to a Q and A with Tommy…and let me tell you, he is just as bat shit insane as you would have guessed. Here’s a snippet The Wife recorded with our little Kodak camera from the back row:

You can hear me asking The Wife if she thinks Tommy gets laid a lot at the 1:52 mark…what you can’t hear is her response of, “Oh yeah. Totally. He’s a pussy magnet.” I knew she had to be right, and I really wanted to ask Tommy if the rumors were true that he was a pussy magnet, but I never got the chance.

I did get to ask him about his vampire movie though! And you can hear that (at 4:16) and the entire Q and A on this superior video by DillyShinguards:

It’s 16 minutes of bizarre hilarity…

I think the best question someone asked was if Tommy would play catch with them…surprisingly(?), Tommy said yes…and while they tossed a football back and forth the lucky devil exclaimed, “You’re my best friend!” Wow…genius.

The film itself was even better on the big screen than at home on the tee vee and the crowd participation, while not as organized and consistent as the monthly LA screenings, was extremely funny and infectious. The couple sitting next to us had never seen THE ROOM and it was awesome watching them lose their shit during the film….especially at the tragic ending…as soon as Tommy pulled the trigger I leaned over to the young lady and asked, “Didn’t see that coming?” to which she practically screamed, “Oh my god, NO!”

Anyway, even though our pics came out blurry and I never got Tommy to tell us what the title of his upcoming Wiseau Films Vampire movie will be (my money’s on: THE COFFIN), we still had a great time!

I highly recommend seeing THE ROOM in a theater with a bunch of fanatics if you ever get the chance…it was a perfect night during this perfect week!

2 Responses to “THE ROOM Week: Live In Austin”

  1. Soylent Steve Says:

    I never doubted your commitment.

    Needless to say I am shocked.

    http://countdown.onlineclock.net/

    144 days till Rocktober!

  2. Tenebrous Kate Says:

    So. Flipping. Jealous. I’m mad that I didn’t learn about THE ROOM until after the most recent NYC screening–it is something I desperately want to experience live and in person.

    I am also really excited about the upcoming TOMMY WISEAU VAMPIRE MOVIE! That is a match made in weird-cinema heaven. Baron XIII kept saying TW looked like someone from a vampire movie–he will feel so vindicated now 🙂


Leave a Reply

