twice the thrills! twice the chills!

Hey Boners!

Guess what? You’re ol’ pal, Canacorn, has stumbled back into the blog-o-sphere (are the kids still calling it that these days?) for a quickie post about horror movies.

You see, my buddy, cole (no capital letters…this dude just won’t use them for some reason), over at vitagraph, american is doing this little thing called, twice the thrills! twice the chills!

I’ll let cole explain what it’s all about: “the concept is pretty basic – you have one theater for one halloween night. what double feature do you program and why? two films and your motivations for selecting them, otherwise no limits. i leave it to your unfettered imaginations.

Sounds easy enough, right? Right! So let’s get to it!

Initially, I thought a David Cronenberg body horror double feature would be pretty sweet….

Then I figured The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974) and it’s super awesome sequel would be a great Halloween dream team…

And then I almost decided on the wonderfully twisted and hilarious horror/comedy rope-a-dope combo of Henenlotter‘s Frankenhooker and Stephen Sayadian‘s Dr. Caligari to really showcase my love for The Cinema

And then I thought….

You see where this is going? It took me forever to stop permuting every fucking horror movie I’ve ever seen into some sort of more awesomer double shot of awesomeness! Or whatever.

Well, after hours and hours of brain melting introspection, I finally unfettered more than my imagination and came up with my Halloween night two-fer!

First up: À l’intérieur (American title: Inside) (2007)

Okay, I first heard about this one from the Gorillanaut blog back in July of 2008.

While checking out the screenshots, my first thought was, “Who’s the cutie with the gap in her teeth?” and then my second thought was, “Christ on a bike! This movie hates faces!!!”

The cutie with the diastema is the bat-shit insane, Béatrice Dalle, and this movie doesn’t just hate faces, it hates everything!

I had to watch this one alone since The Wife was pregnant at the time and wanted absolutely NOTHING to do with Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo‘s unrelenting story of one woman’s desire to have a baby. There’s a bit more to the plot, but if you haven’t seen this brutal and disturbing French horror film, I don’t want to spoil anything. I’m not usually the squeamish type, but I moaned and squirmed during the entire run time of this fucker. I could only imagine what it would be like to see this one on the big screen in a crowded theater…

It would be a great start to my double feature….and it seriously hates faces…seriously.

How do you keep the meat in the seats after 83 minutes of “strong bloody violence, gruesome and disturbing content, and language“? I got one word for you, RE-FUCKING-ANIMATOR!

Re-Animator (1985)

This 80s classic has it all…and by all, I mean, a great directior, excellent casting, a tight script, superb special effects, and a severed head going downtown on a naked Barbara Crampton!

I remember seeing this on cable as a young man, and it blew my mind. This is another film that just screams to be seen late at night with a group of like minded horror fans on the silver screen! And since it has its tongue firmly planted in its cheek, I believe it’s a nice mental break after À l’intérieur.

And I think it has one of the best title sequences and theme songs ever!

So that’s it….I’m done. Happy Halloween! I’m anxious to hear all about the other double feature picks over at vitagraph, american!

Canacorn out!

Leave a comment